Baby Advice · Baby Health & Safety · Cloth Diapering · Infant · Reviews · Travel Advice

Disposable vs. Reusable Swim Diaper

I never thought we would end up cloth diapering. Not in a million years. But here we are, cloth diapering like it ain’t nobody’s business! I won’t lie to you and say cloth diapering is easier than using disposables. People that say that, are full of it… and by it, I mean poo. Cloth diapering is absolutely not in any way, shape, or form easier than rolling up a dirty disposable and pitching it. Nope.

On the flip side, would you be shocked if I told you that reusable swim diapers are actually EASIER than disposable swim diapers? Because they totally are. And I would absolutely be the first to tell you if I thought it was harder. I know that this goes against everything you would believe about cloth diapers but it is SO true!

FIT: Disposable diapers pull on like you would with underwear. Have you ever tried to do this with a wet baby that is not cooperating? It’s a pain in the you-know-what.

With my BB Littles reusable swim diapers, they have snaps on BOTH sides to make it easy to get on and off. It’s glorious. Can you imagine having to pull down the diaper if it was filled with poo? It would be a MESS. With the snaps, it’s so easy to unsnap and pull off even if your little one is standing up, squirming, or being the perfect angel we all dream our babies would be during diaper changes.

AMOUNT OF CHANGES:  I found that even just from playing at our splash table, after 1 hour, her disposable diaper was starting to sag and we needed a new one! She wasn’t even submerged! That would be fine if that was all we were doing for the day, but next week we plan on going on vacation and will be hitting the pool/beach pretty much all day for 9 days. That will definitely add up with the amount of changes we would need!

With our BB Littles swim diapers, we only need to change her when she poops. YUP. I told you they were easier!! Swim diapers are not meant to hold pee and technically, pee is considered sterile. (I know, trust me. I didn’t realize I was swimming in baby pee all of these years until recently… but now, I am a mom and I just don’t care. Haha!)

CARE:  Obviously, for the disposable, you would just throw it away. For the cloth, you can rinse it out after each use if you want (or don’t, I’m not judging 😉 )  If your little one poops, you just rinse it out or dump it into the toilet. I get off most of the poop and just throw it in with the rest of my clothes in the washer and it’s good as new!

MONEY:  With extra changes from the disposable diapers, comes extra $$$ being spent. A pack of disposable diapers are just under $10. It is easy to fly through a pack of those diapers and as much as we love the water, we would spend a fortune on buying disposables!

Our BB Littles Swim Diapers are $18.99 and I only really need 3 or 4 of them total. That seems expensive, but for the amount of times we have used ours and how long we can use them, we are actually saving money! You can actually get 15% off with code ASHLEYM15 if you decide to go this route, saving you even more money!

FEEL: My daughter has got the most sensitive skin ever. Disposable swim diapers are definitely not for little ones with delicate skin. After an hour in one, she started chafing and had a rash from it! It doesn’t really surprise me because the textures is super stiff and almost feels like styrofoam or cardboard. OUCH!

Our BB Littles Swim Diapers are definitely a softer material and don’t cause any issues with rashes or chafing. Another win in my book!

STYLE:  I don’t want to sound mean, but I truly think disposable swim diapers are ugly. They just look yuck to me. I don’t know, maybe I am just spoiled with the patterns on my cloth diapers?

Our BB Littles diapers are super stylish and often, I don’t even put swim bottoms over them because I like how they look. I love how all of their designs are gender-neutral, so it saves me money again by not investing in gender-specific diapers and having to buy more if we have a boy.



SIZING:  Disposable swim diapers come in sizes just like you would buy regular disposables. My daughter wears a size 3 diaper so we bought the size 3/4 pack. It got so weighed down with water that it was sagging. It didn’t look comfy and I would be shocked if it could catch poo with how saggy it was.

Our BB Littles swim diapers are made to fit 8-36 lbs! Our cloth diapers will probably last us until she is 3 years old. We are definitely making our money back and then some by using these! I have 4 reusable diapers and I think it is plenty for the next few years!

CONCLUSION: 

Even if you don’t cloth diaper on a normal basis, you can definitely, absolutely, 100% go cloth for swim diapers.

Why you should choose BB Littles Swim Diapers over Disposable Swim Diapers: 

  • Cloth swim diapers are EASIER than disposables
  • More stylish
  • Saves the environment
  • Better for sensitive skin
  • Saves you money
  • Last for a long time
  • Can be used for multiple kids

If you want some of these awesome diapers visit: beauandbellelittles.com and use code ASHLEYM15 for a discount on your new diapers!

If you want to learn more, you can see my video testimonials here:

 

WELCOME TO THE CLOTH SIDE, MY FRIENDS!

XOXO One Merry Mama

 

 

 

